Creamy Garlic Dressing

Bonus post for today. Since I’m talking about salad dressings, here’s a recipe of what to make with those condiments.

Most of the time, I’ll make my own dressing: most often just a simple vinaigrette. This is one of my favorites, modeled after Dave’s Italian Kitchen in Evanston, and it’s a pretty good match after some experiments. You have to let this sit, as the garlic blooms over time.

You can definitely get away with light sour cream. I haven’t tried it with greek yogurt but it would probably still be pretty good.

1/2 Cup Sour Cream, can use about 3 parts sour cream to 1 part mayo if you like it a little tangier
3 or more cloves garlic, grated on a microplane
1 tsp lemon juice and some grated rind
large pinch salt
large pinch white pepper
Thin to desired consistency with buttermilk

Mix together and let sit for at least an hour before serving.

For the real Dave’s experience, the salad should have shaved carrots, shredded mozzarella, and pepperoncini.

Note: I previously posted this recipe at LTHforum.com.

Leave a comment